Democracy in Diversity: Indian and European Perspectives - Part 1

Bangalore, January 10-11, 2014

The next workshop of the Law, Politics and Constitutionalism focus area will be organised on January 10 and 11, 2014, in Bangalore.

It takes place at the National Law School of India University. The conveners are Prof. Philipp Dann (University of Giessen), Prof. Sitharamam Kakarala  (CSCS, Bangalore) and Kalyani Ramnath (Princeton Unviersity).


Thursday, January 9th

7:00pm         Meeting in the entrance hall for a dinner at NLS
                       (including informal presentations of participants)

Friday, January 10th

9:30am         Brief introduction: Idea of the workshop (by conveners)
                       Introduction of participants (by themselves)

10:45am       Coffee break

11:00am       Session 1: Post-democracy (moderator Philipp)
                       Tickets: Pritam Baruah, Emilios Christodoulidis, Marco Dani

12:30am       Lunch break

1:30pm         Session 2: Democracy and capitalism (moderator Ram)
                       Tickets: Jürgen Bast, Sigrid Boysen, Rohit De, Sudhir Krishnaswamy

3:30pm         Coffee break

4:00pm         Session 3: Multi-level democracy (moderator Philipp)
                       Tickets: Steffen Augsberg, Chandan Gowda, Naveen Thayyil, Jo Murkens

6:00pm         End of sessions

6:30pm         Meeting in the entrance hall to go to a dinner in the city
                       or meeting at 8.30pm directly at Restaurant Coconut grove – church street

Saturday, January 11th

10:00am       Session 5: Juridification of democracy (moderator Kalyani)
                       Tickets: James Fowkes, Menaka Guruswamy, Madhav Khosla, Arun Thiruvengadam,
                       Uwe Volkmann

12:30am       Lunch break

1:30pm         Session 4: Surveilling democracy (moderator Kalyani)
Tickets: Michaela Hailbronner, Usha Ramanathan, Kalyani Ramnath, Ram Kakarala

3:30pm         Afterthoughts: Feedback on part I and ideas for part II (workshop in Berlin)

5:00pm         End of sessions

6:30pm         Common dinner at NLS


> Download the program (updated 09/01/2014)


Steffen AUGSBERG, Professor of Public Law, University of Giessen (Germany)

Pritam BARUAH, Teaching Fellow and PhD Candidate, King’s College London (UK)

Juergen BAST, Professor of Public Law, University of Giessen (Germany)

Sigrid BOYSEN, Professor of Public Law, FU Berlin (Germany)

Emilios CHRISTODOULIDIS, Professor of Legal Theory, Law School, University of Glasgow (UK)

Marco DANI, Senior Lecturer in European Constitutional Law, Trento, Italy (Italy)

Philipp DANN, Professor of Public and Comparative Law, University of Giessen (Germany)

Rohit DE, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Centre for history and economics, University of Cambridge (UK)

James FOWKES, JSD candidate, Yale Law School (USA)

Chandan GOWDA, Professor of Sociology, Azim Premji University (APU) Bangalore (India)

Menaka GURUSWAMY, Advocate, Supreme Court of India (India)

Michaela HAILBRONNER, Senior Research Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (Germany)

Samuel JUBE, Law researcher, Member of IEARN Steering Committee – Director of IAS-Nantes (France)

Sitharamam KAKARALA, Researcher in Political Theory, Human Rights Law, CSCS Bangalore (India)

Madhav KHOSLA, PhD candidate, Department of Political Science, Harvard University (USA)

Sudhir KRISHNASWAMY, Professor of Law, Azim Premji University (APU) Bangalore (India)

Jo MURKENS, Constitutional law expert, London School of Economics (UK)

Joachim NETTELBECK, Member of IEARN Steering Committee – former Secretary General of Wiko, (Germany)

Usha RAMANATHAN, Independent law researcher,  (India)

Kalyani RAMNATH, Graduate student, Department of history, Princeton University (USA)

Shalini RANDERIA, Professor of Social Anthropology and Sociology, Graduate Institute, geneva (Switzerland)

Arun THIRUVENGADAM, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, National University Singapore (Singapore)

Naveen THAYYIL, Assistant Professor of Law and Public Policy, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (India)

Uwe VOLKMANN, Professor in legal philosophy and public law, University of Mainz (Germany)


> Download the list of participants with biographies [update 09/01/14]

Restricted area

please login to access documents and information for participants