Democracy in Diversity: Indian and European perspectives - Part 2

Berlin, March 08-10, 2015

The next workshop of the "Law, Politics and Constitutionalism" focus area will be organised on March 09th to 10th, 2015, in Berlin.

It will take place at the Wissenschaftskolleg. The conveners are Prof. Philipp Dann (University of Giessen), Prof. Sitharamam Kakarala  (CSCS, Bangalore) and Kalyani Ramnath (Princeton Unviersity).


Democracy in Diversity: Indian and European perspectives

Program for Workshop 2

Berlin, March 8-10, 2015

Sunday, March 8th

19:30                           Informal get together



Monday, March 9th

9:30 – 10:30               Brief introduction of participants

10:30 – 11.00              Coffee break

11:00 – 13:00             Session 1: Federalism and Democracy

                                   Tickets: Chandan Gowda, Domenico Amirante, Jelena von Achenbach, Jürgen Bast

13:00 – 14:30             Lunch break

14:30 – 16:30              Session 2: Parliaments: Centres of Democracy or Ineffective Theatres?

                                     Tickets: Marco Dani, Michaela Hailbronner, Nick Robinson, Shubhankar Dam

16:30 – 17:00             Coffee break

17:00 – 19:00             Session 3: Social Movements / Participation in Public Sphere /                                                                      Direct Democracy

                                     Tickets: Emilios Christodoulidis, James Fowkes, Naveen Tayyil, Aparna Chandra, Sitharamam Kakarala

19:00 – 20:30             Dinner at Wissenschaftskolleg

20: 30                         Film Screening: Red Ant Dream


Tuesday, March 10th

9: 30 – 12:00              Session 4: Protection of Democracy

                                   Tickets: Menaka Guruswamy, Sigrid Boysen, Steffen Augsberg, Akila Ramalingam

12:00 – 13:30             Lunch break

13:30 – 16:00             Session 5: Concepts of Constitutional Democracy

                                   Tickets: Jo Murkens, Tommaso Amico di Meane, Pritam Baruah, Uwe Volkmann, Sitharamam Kakarala

16:00 – 16:30             Coffee break

16:30 – 17:30             Afterthoughts and Way forward


20:00                           Dinner at Pizzeria Piazza Bra




Jelena Von ACHENBACH, Research Associate, Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen (Germany)

Tommaso AMICO DI MEANE, PhD Candidate, Naples University (Italy)

Domenico AMIRANTE, Professor, Naples University (Italy)

Steffen AUGSBERG, Professor, University of Giessen (Germany)

Pritam BARUAH, Teaching Fellow and PhD Candidate, Jindal Global University (India)

Juergen BAST, Professor, University of Giessen (Germany)

Sigrid BOYSEN, Professor, Helmut-Schmidt-Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg (Germany)

Aparna CHANDRA, Assistant Professor, National Law University Delhi (India)

Emilios CHRISTODOULIDIS, Professor, University of Glasgow (UK)

Shubhankar DAM, Assistant Professor, Singapore Management University (Singapore)

Marco DANI, Professor, University of Trento (Italy)

Philipp DANN, Professor, Humbolt University of Berlin (Germany)

Matthieu FORLODOU, Scientific Executive Assistant, Nantes Institute for Advanced Study (France)

James FOWKES, JSD candidate, Yale University (USA)

Chandan GOWDA, Professor, Azim Premji University Bangalore (India)

Menaka GURUSWAMY, Advocate, Supreme Court of India (India)

Michaela HAILBRONNER, Senior Research, University of Pretoria (South Africa)

Tanja Marielle HERKLOTZ, Scientific Associate, Humboldt University of Berlin (Germany)

Sitharamam KAKARALA, Researcher, Glocal University, Dehradun (India)

Nora MARKARD, Scientific Associate, University of Hamburg (Germany)

Jo Eric MURKENS, Associate Professor, Constitutional law expert, London School of Economics (UK)

Joachim NETTELBECK, Member of IEARN Steering Committee – former Secretary General of Wiko, (Germany)

Akila RAMALINGAM, National Law University, Delhi (India)

Shalini RANDERIA, Professor, Institute for Human Sciences, Vienna (Austria)

Nick ROBINSON, Research Fellow, Harvard Law School (USA)

Naveen THAYYIL, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (India)

Uwe VOLKMANN, Professor, University of Mainz (Germany)

Restricted area

please login to access documents and information for participants